THIS IS A SCAM!
Today in my Freeserve account I got a Phish spam claiming to be from Barclays, asking me to confirm my details:
Details Confirmation
SECURITY ALERT: PIease read this important message
As the Technical service of bank have been currently updating the software, we kindly ask you to follow the reference given below to confirm your data, otherwise your access to the system may be bIocked.
PIease foIIow the link below to fill the form “DetaiIs Confirmation”:
http://www.personaI.barcIays.co.uk/goto/pfsoIb_Iogin
I clicked on the link as I was curious to how close to the Barclays bank web site these fraudsters got to the real thing, it was quite close but not close enough, do not worry I never put any of my bank details in! I am not a fool - although I can see how people get tricked in a scam like this. The obvious reason why it is not Barclays is the domain name, it is a subdomain name (the dot between personal and barclays gives that away), but most people would not know that.
Please everyone be aware of this scam and anything which online asks you to confirm security details. If in doubt phone the company directly, as security matters like this will NOT be done online.